Dabbing cannabis concentrates is becoming more popular, and demand is steadily increasing with the legalization of marijuana in several states. Ice or shatter concentrate is popular because it’s easy to handle and has a high terpene content, which results in a superior aroma and flavor compared to other concentrates.
Shatter concentrates are great for seasoned cannabis consumers, flavor connoisseurs, and medical marijuana consumers in need of a direct, economical and fast-acting solution to their ailments. And even though dabbing is growing in popularity nationwide, shatter concentrates are not legal in every state, and some states have harsh penalties.
So, here is handy list of states where you can snap into your shatter legally:
Adults ages 21 and over can legally possess up to eight grams of hash or concentrates without any penalty in California. Possession of more than eight grams is a misdemeanor and punishable by a maximum fine of $500.
However, the unlicensed chemical manufacturing of concentrates can result in three to seven years imprisonment.
Legal adults are free and clear to possess cannabis concentrates in Colorado, as long as they have less than an ounce. Possession of smaller, personal amounts carries no penalty.
Three ounces or more is a misdemeanor punishable up to six to 18 months imprisonment and a $5,000 fine.
Possession of five grams or less shatter concentrate carries no penalty in Maine.
Over five grams can lead to up to a year in prison and a $2,000 fine. Trafficking concentrates is punishable from five to 10 years in prison.
There is no penalty or fine for possession of up to five grams of shatter concentrate in Massachusetts.
Up to an ounce is only a civil offense with a maximum $100 fine.
In Nevada, it is not a crime and there is no penalty for any adult over the age of 21 to possess up to one-eighth ounce (3.5 grams) of shatter concentrates.
There are no penalties for the possession of 16 ounces or less of solid shatter concentrates at home in Oregon. You are also allowed 72 ounces or less of cannabis-infused liquids or one ounce or less of extract at home.
However, unlicensed concentrates bought through the black market can lead to a misdemeanor or felony depending on the amount.
In Pennsylvania, medical marijuana consumers may possess a 30-day supply of shatter concentrate.
For everyone else, eight grams or less of hash or other cannabis concentrates is a misdemeanor with a $500 fine and maximum 30 days in prison.
Possession of seven grams or less of concentrate carries no penalty or fine in Washington.
Anything over 40 grams, however, results in a felony with up to five years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
States That Will Shatter Your Dreams
If you’re travelling between states and forget the previous list that's no problem. Because there is an even more important list to remember: where not to get arrested with your wax, shatter or oil.
None of these states have any form of legalized marijuana, and they all have hefty penalties for possession of any cannabis concentrates.
In Mississippi, possession of over .1g of hash or concentrate is a felony with a mandatory sentence of 2-8 years in prison. But it gets much worse.
Possession of 2-10g carries a mandatory sentence of 4-16 years. For 10-30g, you get 6-24 years, for over 30g you get a minimum of 10 years, maximum of 30.
Similar to trafficking drugs in the state, taking any dabs into Mississippi comes with huge risks.
According to Texas law, whatever material extract is infused into gets counted itself as a concentrate, so if you are caught with a special-brownies, they weigh the whole edible as a controlled substance.
If you have more than one gram of shatter extract in Texas, that's a mandatory sentence of two years.
Manufacturing more than 4 grams is a mandatory sentence between 5 and 99 years. Meaning that a zealous District Attorney and judge could potentially give someone life in prison for a hearty rosin run.
There is a 1 year and one day minimum prison sentence for possession of any amount shatter concentrate in Alabama.
Manufacturing a Schedule 1 drug in the state is a Class A felony that comes with a mandatory sentence of 10 years to life.
And to prove their seriousness about cannabis, a marijuana conviction of any kind in Alabama results in a 6 months suspension of your driver's license.
In Georgia, there is a 1-year mandatory sentence for possession of any amount of cannabis concentrates and a 5-year mandatory sentence for extracting or selling concentrates.
A second offense comes with a mandatory stretch of 10-40 years.
The Right State of Being
Now you know the states where it's legal to take fat dabs and the states where you best leave the shatter concentrates behind. Stay up to date on the changing cannabis laws throughout the country at Leafbuyer.
For the best concentrate deals, head to the Leafbuyer deals page!