Though the writers of the voter-backed Measure 91 had carved out a way for local governments to limit or ban the operation of recreational marijuana-related businesses, Portland chose to adopt the reformative cannabis law in full. Under the law, no local government can entirely ban the cultivation of marijuana by an eligible adult, yet local governments may ban growing outdoors.
As the city has continued to review and adjust their city code as necessary, growing laws in Portland for recreational users have remained true to the voter-backed measure. Here is what you should know:
Landlords may prohibit growing
Growing laws in Portland dictate any landlord who does not want tenants growing marijuana has the legal authority to deny their right, through the lease, to grow marijuana while residing on the property. If you are renting before you head out to get some seeds, clones, and all the other things you need to grow some spectacular buds, checking with your lease or landlord is a safe bet.
Both indoor and outdoor growing is acceptable… with limitations
Yes indeed, both indoor and outdoor grows are acceptable in Portland. Under measure 91, from where Portland growing laws are derived, residents cannot grow marijuana in a place where it can be seen by unaided eyes.
Additionally, it is a Federal crime if marijuana is produced within 1,000 feet of a school and, according to the Oregonian, plants grown outdoors must be cordoned off using a fence or other barrier to obstruct the public view.
Four plants per resident 21 & up OR per household
Under Measure 91, known as the “Control, Regulation, and Taxation of Marijuana and Industrial Hemp Act”, residents 21 and older can cultivate as many as four (4) plants per individual; however, in the event there are several adults living in one household, the number of plants is limited to four (4) per residence. Additionally, storage of marijuana from those plants is limited to a total of eight (8) ounces of usable marijuana per household.
It is worth noting, though growing laws in Portland allow the possession of eight (8) ounces, the possession limit in public is seven (7) ounces less than the at-home limit. That being said, possession over an ounce in public is a violation carrying a fine of $650 dollars. Additionally, if you are caught growing more than four plants, but not exceeding eight, in any residence misdemeanor charges, up to six months imprisonment, and fines up to $2,500 are the legal penalties you’d risk.
Portland’s rules on homegrown marijuana processing
Not everyone who grows smokes the plant. As a quantity of eight (8) ounces of flower is much different thing than eight ounces of cannabutter, the state of Oregon has adopted varied limits to how much a person may possess after processing their marijuana into solid form (such as butter, oil), liquid form (such as tincture), or concentrate (such as hash).
In lieu of raw cannabis, the marijuana growing laws in Portland indicate residents may possess and produce as much as:
- 16 ounces of marijuana in solid form
- 72 ounces of marijuana in liquid form
- 16 ounces of marijuana concentrate
It is important to note concentrate production methods using butane or a similar flammable chemical are strictly forbidden for unlicensed producers. These extraction methods have the possibility of causing fires or explosions and has sent several state residents to the hospital.
Concentrates which are suitable for home production include rosin and bubble hash.
While Portland growing laws for adult, non-medical consumers are more strict than Colorado, they are incredibly liberal compared to Washington, where no recreational consumer can grow.