Does Oklahoma allow medical marijuana?▼▲
Yes, the passing of State Question 788 allows an individual with a state-sanctioned medical marijuana license to possess and consume marijuana in all places that allow the smoking of tobacco products.
The new law, which was the culmination of an effort that began in 2016 after a protracted court battle pushed the vote back two years, passed 57 percent to 43 percent and made Oklahoma the 30th state to legalize medical marijuana.
Under Oklahoma weed laws, medical marijuana cardholders can possess up to three ounces of flower marijuana, one ounce of concentrated marijuana and 72 ounces of edible marijuana. The law also allows for up to eight ounces of marijuana to be stored and the growing of six mature marijuana plants and six immature marijuana plants in a patient's residence.
Is weed legal in Oklahoma for recreational use?▼▲
No, recreational marijuana use and possession is expressly forbidden by federal and state law.
Medical marijuana, however, is legal, and adults and minors may apply for a medical marijuana license from the state at omma.ok.gov
Is CBD legal in Oklahoma?▼▲
Sort of, but not really.
In 2015, CBD was legalized by then-Governor Mary Fallin for the treatment of children suffering from epileptic seizures, though she made clear her opposition to medical marijuana at the time and again during the 2018 State Question 788 vote.
Since then, CBD has become widely available throughout the state, though there is no law specifically allowing CBD to be consumed for recreational purposes.
Where are the dispensaries located in Oklahoma?▼▲
As of March, 2019, the state has awarded over 1,000 medical marijuana dispensary licenses to the burgeoning Oklahoma marijuana industry, but not every location has been opened to the public just yet. The first dispensaries welcomed patients in December of 2018, six months after State Question 788 was passed by voters, and more continue to open with each passing month.
Most dispensaries are located in the major metro areas of Tulsa, Oklahoma City, and Moore, and a list of all marijuana dispensaries can be found on omma.ok.gov
Are the Oklahoma dispensaries recreational or medical?▼▲
Oklahoma medical marijuana laws stipulate that only marijuana for medicinal purposes is legal in the state. This means that all marijuana dispensaries in Oklahoma are medical marijuana dispensaries only, and no legal, recreational marijuana dispensaries exist in the state.
Adults and minors alike may apply for a medical marijuana license through the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA). While adults may obtain a medical marijuana card with a recommendation from one doctor, those under 18 need the signatures of two physicians, as well as the permission of a parent or legal guardian.
Payment Methods Accepted at Dispensaries in Oklahoma▼▲
As federal law still prohibits the growth, transportation, sale and consumption of marijuana, most banks and financial services companies choose not to deal directly with marijuana businesses. That means cash is still king at almost all medical marijuana dispensaries in the state. However, most dispensaries have an ATM or two on site, so you don't necessarily need to run by the bank before visiting the dispensary.
Oklahoma Grow Limits▼▲
According to Oklahoma marijuana law, medical marijuana patients with a valid medical marijuana card can grow up to six mature and six immature plants, meaning that you can have up to six flowering or budding plants and six seeding or vegetative plants.
To be clear, no one is legally allowed to grow marijuana for recreational use or consumption in the state of Oklahoma, and you can be punished by state and federal law for growing and transporting marijuana without a valid medical marijuana card or marijuana business license.
Oklahoma Purchasing Limits▼▲
According to Oklahoma medical marijuana laws, card-carrying patients can purchase up to the possession limits for medical marijuana in the state. This means that your local medical marijuana dispensary can sell you up to three ounces of flower marijuana, one ounce of concentrated marijuana and 72 ounces of edible marijuana.
Can you go into a dispensary when you're under 21 in Oklahoma?▼▲
Unless you have an Oklahoma medical marijuana card, you cannot enter a medical marijuana dispensary in the state. With a medical marijuana card, you're free to enter and purchase medical marijuana products.
If you're over the age of 18, you can apply for a medical marijuana card with a physician's signature and recommendation. Minors under the age of 18 need two physicians' signatures and the approval of a parent or legal guardian.
How old do you have to be to purchase marijuana in Oklahoma?▼▲
There is no age restriction to purchase marijuana in Oklahoma provided you have a valid medical marijuana card. Both minors and adults can apply on the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority's website at omma.ok.gov
Note that minors under the age of 18 need the permission of a parent or legal guardian, as well as the recommendation of two different doctors.
Do you need a medical card to buy from a dispensary in Oklahoma?▼▲
Yes, Oklahoma medical marijuana laws only allow dispensaries to sell medical marijuana, which means you need to be a medical marijuana cardholder to purchase marijuana. You can apply online at the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority's website at omma.ok.gov
Do you need a medical card to enter a dispensary in Oklahoma?▼▲
Yes, all persons entering a medical marijuana dispensary in the state of Oklahoma must have a valid medical marijuana card. Cards can be applied for online at omma.ok.gov
, cost $100, and must be renewed every two years.
Oklahoma Possession/Use Limits▼▲
According to Oklahoma weed laws, medical marijuana cardholders can possess up to three ounces of flower marijuana, one ounce of concentrated marijuana and 72 ounces of edible marijuana. The law also allows individuals to store up to eight ounces of marijuana and to grow 12 marijuana plants -- with only six flowering or budding plants at any time -- in their homes.
Unlike most cross-state medical marijuana laws, any individual who legally possesses a medical marijuana license from another state may obtain a temporary license in Oklahoma through the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority at omma.ok.gov
for an application fee of $100.
Without an Oklahoma medical marijuana card, you are not allowed to possess or consume marijuana under any circumstances. However, if you can offer evidence of a qualifying medical condition, you may only face misdemeanor charges and fine of up to $400 if caught with less than an ounce and a half of marijuana.
According to Oklahoma marijuana laws, those with a medical marijuana license can only consume marijuana in a private area like a residence. Medical marijuana cannot be consumed in any public areas like parks, sidewalks, or restaurants.
Oklahoma weed laws allow medical marijuana cardholders and their caregivers the ability to grow up to 12 marijuana plants, with no more than six flowering or budding plants at any one time. Keep in mind that the per-person limits are the same as the household limits, so any household cannot grow more than 12 plants, with six flowering, as well.
Medical At-Home Cultivation in Oklahoma▼▲
Only medical marijuana patients may cultivate marijuana in the state of Oklahoma and may grow up to 12 plants in their home -- which is also the household limit -- with a maximum of six plants budding at any time.
Recreational At-Home Cultivation in Oklahoma▼▲
Recreational cultivation of marijuana is expressly forbidden by Oklahoma marijuana laws. While this may change in the future, only medical marijuana patients and medical marijuana growers licensed by the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority may grow marijuana in the state of Oklahoma.
Medical marijuana card-carrying patients or their caregivers may travel with up to three ounces of marijuana at any given time.
As recreational marijuana is not allowed in Oklahoma, the legal limit for non-cardholders is zero, though if an individual can offer evidence of a qualifying medical condition and is caught with less than 1.5 ounces of marijuana, they may only face misdemeanor charges and a fine up to $400.
Is Marijuana delivery legal in Oklahoma?▼▲
Oklahoma medical marijuana laws have not weighed in specifically on the issue of medical marijuana delivery. However, State Question 788 does allow medical marijuana retailers a transportation license that could eventually be used for delivery purposes. So, if the Oklahoma Department of Health limits the number of marijuana dispensaries in a given area or statewide, some have estimated that delivery may be allowed in order to help serve larger geographical areas and close the gap.
Marijuana and Driving in Oklahoma▼▲
Among the many things to keep in mind that are not allowed by Oklahoma's medical marijuana laws, driving while under the influence of cannabis is at the top of the list, even with a valid medical marijuana card. So if you're a patient and get behind the wheel while under the effects of marijuana, you can be arrested for a DUI, just like with alcohol.
Facts About Oklahoma Weed Laws▼▲
- Oklahoma collects a 7% sales tax on all marijuana sold in the state.
- The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana authority handles all medical marijuana applications from adults and minors alike, as well as managing all applications for medical marijuana businesses, caregivers and physicians. All cards and licenses can also be checked via their website at omma.ok.gov.
- The application fee for a medical marijuana card costs $100 and lasts two years.
- The application fee for opening a marijuana dispensary in Oklahoma is $2,500.
- There are almost 30,000 medical marijuana patients in the state.
- The Oklahoma Board of Health in July of 2018 banned smokable marijuana products at dispensaries, but was overruled by lawsuits later that year.