Marijuana is Legal▼
Maryland passed the “Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission” in 2013, formally ordering the state to create, establish, and oversee a system of licensing and registration for cardholders, caregivers, employees, and businesses related to the medical use of cannabis.
The program implementation is among the most delayed of any state in the U.S. marijuana industry. Despite the law being passed in 2013, it wasn’t until the end of 2017 that any of the registered cardholders could receive care.
Now the industry is viable, operational, and accessible to those who qualify.
Purchase and Possession Limits▼
Cardholders and caregivers may purchase up to a 30-day supply. As defined by the medical marijuana Commission, a 30-day supply is equal to 120 grams of marijuana flower or as much as 36 grams of THC or THC-infused products.
The Commission has determined this to mean as much as 120 grams of flower cannabis, just over 4.25 ounces per month. Recognizing the difference between full-flower cannabis and infused products, the Commission has ruled no dispensary location may sell more than 36 grams (36,000 mg) of THC in a 30-day period.
Under decriminalization in Maryland, any person who is neither a cardholder nor a caregiver caught in possession of 10 grams or less is subject to a civil fine of $100. Any individual caught with any amount above 10 grams but below fifty pounds of cannabis may be subject to a misdemeanor charge, a fine of $1,000, and up to a full year in jail.
Growing Marijuana at Home in Maryland▼
Cardholders and their designated caregiver cannot grow marijuana at this time. Only licensed growers may cultivate marijuana legally in Maryland.
If a person is caught growing marijuana, penalties are based on total weight. If the marijuana is for personal use, any amount over 10 grams but no more than 50 pounds may be subject to fines up to $1,000, misdemeanor charges, and up to 12 month in jail. If the marijuana was intended for sale by an unlicensed grower, felony charges, five years in prison, and fines up to $15,000 are possible.
Marijuana and Driving▼
Driving While Intoxicated
Medical cardholders and non-cardholders alike are prohibited from operating a car, other motor vehicles, boats, or aircrafts while under the influence of marijuana.
For the first offense, drugged driving is penalized by misdemeanor criminal charges, fines up to $1,000, and up to one-year imprisonment. Additionally, a person caught driving while under the influence of marijuana can have their license suspended for up to 45 days and may have to participate in a drug and alcohol education program.
Driving While in Possession of Marijuana
Marijuana products may be transported by cardholders, caregivers, and dispensary employees. While inside the vehicle, cardholders cannot smoke marijuana, and medical marijuana products should never leave the state.
A person who is not a cardholder, caregiver, or an employee permitted to transport marijuana may find themselves subject to the penalties for possession as defined above.