Thousands of Offers. Millions in Savings.
Experience the new Leafbuyer SIMPLE SEARCH!
Discover nearby locations, deals, and products using the fastest, most comprehensive search tool in the cannabis industry!
Click here to see it in action.
Today's Hot Deals
Get the best cannabis deals sent straight to you...
Get access to exclusive deals & inside info on community events and giveaways!
Frequently Asked Questions About Marijuana in Minnesota
Is marijuana legal in Minnesota?Minnesota has removed the legal and criminal penalties for cannabis use, but only for individuals with a diagnosable medical condition, disease, or ailment which has a persistent and severe capacity to disrupt an individual's quality of life.
When did marijuana become legal in Minnesota?The Minnesota medical marijuana program was signed into law in late May 2014, with the first dispensary location opening the following July, just over 13 months later.
Where are the dispensaries in Minnesota?Minnesota law allows only two medical marijuana manufacturer licenses to be issued at any one time. Each license can accommodate up to four dispensing facilities and one manufacturing center. As of April 2017, the following dispensary locations are operational:
Are they MED or REC dispensaries?Only medical dispensary locations are legal in the Minnesota at this time. Early 2017 brought a bill seeking to legalize, regulate, and tax marijuana for adults 21 and older to the State House of Representatives.
Who can be a medical patient in Minnesota? Who can purchase REC?Minnesota residents may be recommended medical marijuana by a licensed doctor, physician's assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse. A qualified health professional may recommend marijuana only to individuals with one or more of the following medical conditions or diseases:
How do I become a MED member in Minnesota?Minnesota requires the recommending medical professional to begin the application on the behalf of the patient. Here is how it works:
- Set an appointment with a qualified health professional (a doctor, physician's assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse).
- Fill out the patient email and acknowledgment form prior to your appointment.
- Once your condition has been evaluated, if you qualify for the medical program, your medical professional will submit the certification to the Minnesota Department of Health, prompting an email to be sent to the qualifying patient.
- Use the email to finish registering for the program, including submitting proof of ID and residency along with the application. The application fee is $200 and registrations must be renewed annually.
Where can I smoke?Minnesota prohibits medical marijuana patients from smoking marijuana. Instead, medical marijuana products must be in liquid (such as oil), in a pill, or in a vaporizer which does not use dried leaves or raw plant cannabis. Additional dosage forms may be approved by the Department of Health as deemed medically appropriate. The use of marijuana in any form is prohibited in on a school bus or the property of any school from preschool through high school, in a correctional facility, at a daycare, on any form of public transportation, vaporizing medical marijuana near a non-patient minor where they may inhale the vapor accidentally, at a place of employment, and in any place which can generally be viewed as public.
How much does marijuana cost in Minnesota?Examples:
- 500 mg of cannabis oil for vaporizers can cost as must as $100.
- A 300 mg oral spray is priced between $70-$80
- A 30-pack of cannabis-infused capsules can cost anywhere from $40-$180, depending on the potency and cannabinoid content.
How much marijuana can I buy and possess in Minnesota?After a patient has been registered in the program, the next step is going to a dispensary location where you will do a consultation with a pharmacist. The pharmacist will review the details of each patient's medical record and condition status. The pharmacist will then determine an adequate dosage to treat the patient for a duration of 30 days.
Can I grow marijuana? How many plants?No, marijuana can only be grown and processed by licensed manufacturers.
How do I get a job in the marijuana industry of Minnesota?Minnesota residents age 21 and older may apply to work at a dispensary location or product manufacturer, provided they have not been convicted of a felony. This will be verified through a background check paid for by the applicant through the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.
Is Drug testing for marijuana legal in Minnesota?Unless the patient is under the influence or intoxicated while at work, employers in Minnesota are prohibited from discriminating against an employee simply for being on the medical patient registry at any point during their employment. A patient who fails a drug test due to cannabis components and related metabolites being present are responsible for providing verification they are in the registry to the employer.
Is Delivery legal?Marijuana can be transferred from the manufacturer to a laboratory or dispensary location, but cannot be delivered directly to patients at this time. Caregivers may, however, purchase cannabis products and deliver them to the patient.
How to pay for marijuana in Minnesota dispensaries?Minnesota dispensary locations accept cash and typically have an ATM on-site.
Minnesota Marijuana Laws
Medical patients are not given a standard amount they can purchase or possess. Instead, after being registered in the medical marijuana program, patients are required to consult with one of the pharmacists staffed at a dispensary location. During the consult, the pharmacist will review the patient's medical history and determine a total quantity of cannabis products that would adequately supply the patient for a 30-day period.
Any person caught in possession of marijuana under 42.5 grams who is not a medical patient or designated caregiver may be subject to misdemeanor criminal charges, including a fine of up to $200. The charge may be dropped if it is the first offense and the individual agrees to a drug education course.
Purchase and Possession Limits
Driving while IntoxicatedPatients and non-patients, alike, are forbidden from driving while intoxicated by marijuana. Additionally, patients must never be in control of an aircraft, train, or motorboat while on medical cannabis. If a person is caught driving under the influence of marijuana, a misdemeanor criminal charge, fines up to $1,000, up to six months suspended driver's license, and as much as 90 days in jail are possible for the first offense.
Driving while in possession of marijuanaPatients are allowed to possess and transport medical cannabis products for their own use. Just remember, all medical cannabis products from Minnesota must remain in Minnesota. Any person who is neither a patient or caregiver caught in possession of - but is not intoxicated by - marijuana while driving will be subject to the penalties for possession as defined above. Additionally, if an individual driving a car found with more than 1.4 grams of marijuana in the area of the car the driver or passengers usually occupy, the individual can be charged with a misdemeanor.
Marijuana Use by MinorsMinors under 18 may be registered into the medical marijuana program as long as the parent or legal guardian is their designated caregiver and the parent purchases all the cannabis products. A minor who is not a medical patient caught in possession of marijuana is subject to penalties for possession as defined above.
Growing Marijuana at HomeOnly licensed manufacturers under Minnesota's medical marijuana program may grow marijuana legally.
Places to Consume LegallyCannabis products are forbidden from being consumed in a dispensary location or manufacturing facility. Additionally, patients are prohibited from consuming or possessing marijuana:
Minnesota Marijuana Prices and Economic Data
- Liquid (tincture, oral suspension)
- Oil (syringe or vial)
- Pill or capsule
- Through vaporization, but never from full plant cannabis or dried leaves
Marijuana Activities: Things to do in Minnesota
The Nickelodeon UniverseContained within the Mall of America, a 400-store shopping center employing nearly 12,000 people, the Nickelodeon Universe is, first and foremost, an indoor theme park. Containing 27 different rides and attractions ranging from rollercoasters to live events, the Nickelodeon Universe is fun for all ages.
The North Shore Scenic DriveThis three-hour, 142-mile drive follows Highway 61 from the Duluth to Grand Portage, Minnesota, winding along the coastline of Lake Superior. Bordered by Sawtooth Mountain, the North Shore Scenic Drive passes through miles of uninterrupted forest along the world's largest freshwater lake, complete with hiking trails, waterfalls, and lighthouses.
The Duluth LakewalkA 7.5-mile path along the shores of Lake Superior, the Duluth Lakewalk captures some of the best shorelines in Minnesota. A perfect place to spend your afternoon, the Lakewalk has beaches, bridges, and historical monuments from beginning to end. Whether you choose to walk, run, bicycle, jog, or skate, the Lakewalk is an enchanting way to pass the time.
Wait! You're missing the Best Weed Deals...
Get access to exclusive deals & inside info on community events and giveaways!