Your source for Connecticut cannabis
Learn more about marijuana in Connecticut.
A beautiful mix of rural regions and Atlantic coast, Connecticut is home to more than 3.5 million people. From the quaint and cloudy town of New Haven to the shores of the Thames river, Connecticut has a rich history in the United States.
Is Marijuana Legal in Connecticut?▼▲
Public Act 12-55 legalized the use of marijuana in Connecticut under limited circumstances for specific individuals.
When Did Marijuana Become Legal in Connecticut?▼▲
The Connecticut Palliative Use of Marijuana Act became law in May 2012.
Where Are Connecticut Dispensaries Located?▼▲
Dispensaries are licensed based on patient need. As of August 2018, Connecticut has licensed nine dispensaries across the state. They are distributed as follows:
- One in Bristol
- Two in Milford
- One in South Windsor
- One in Uncasville
- One in Bethel
- One in Waterbury
- One in Branford
- One in Hartford
Are they Medical Marijuana Dispensaries? Recreational? Both?▼▲
Connecticut only permits the sale of medical marijuana.
Where Can Marijuana Be Consumed in Connecticut?▼▲
Connecticut currently prohibits the consumption of marijuana or marijuana-infused products in any dispensary location. Additionally, medical patients cannot consume marijuana in any of the following places or ways:
- In a school bus or other type of public bus
- In any motor vehicle
- On the grounds of any school, from preschool to university
- At work
- In any place you can reasonably determine is public
- In the immediate proximity to a non-patient minor under the age of 18
- In any way that can negatively impact the health or well-being of others
It is important to note schools, landlords, and employers are forbidden from discriminating against an individual for being an active patient within the Palliative Use program.
The Connecticut medical marijuana program prohibits marijuana in smoked, vaporized, edible, and topical forms in a bus - school or transit - or any moving vehicle. Prohibited areas include the grounds of any private or public school, college, university, or dormitory. Marijuana use must not be done in a way that is public, in view of anyone under the age of 18, or in any way that could be seen as neglectful to the point it endangers others.
How Do I Get a Job in the Connecticut Marijuana Industry?▼▲
In order to work within a Connecticut dispensary location, you must be at least 18 years of age and live in Connecticut. Additionally, you will have to submit to your social security number, date of birth, the name and location of the dispensary or production facility you wish to work, your employment history, your criminal history, and a valid pharmacy technician or pharmacist registration number.
Connecticut, per the finalized program regulations, will only allow a person who is currently licensed as a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician within the state to receive a dispensary or dispensary technician license.
Dispensary technicians are required to submit an initial and renewal application every year at the cost of $50.
Is Drug Testing for Marijuana Legal in Connecticut?▼▲
Connecticut protects its patients from discrimination from employers, schools, and landlords. That being said, the state offers no protection to patients who are intoxicated while at work, allowing employers to use drug testing as a way of verifying intoxication.
Is Marijuana Delivery Legal in Connecticut?▼▲
As of March 2017, delivery is acceptable from the primary caregiver to the patient only, not from the dispensary to the patient directly.
How Do I Pay for Marijuana in Connecticut Dispensaries?▼▲
Connecticut dispensaries do most sales in cash. While the federal prohibition of marijuana remains in effect, the banking or card services companies that you find at most retailers are unable to safely conduct business, for fear of knowingly laundering “drug” money.
Marijuana is Legal▼▲
Connecticut passed the Palliative Use of Marijuana Act in 2012. The incredibly-thorough established the framework for the growing, manufacturing, and sales of marijuana and marijuana-infused products.
Taking over two years for the first dispensary to open, the state has been adjusting their tactic ever since. According to program statistics published August 2018, over 27,000 cardholders are registered in the Connecticut Medical Marijuana program.
Purchase and Possession Limits▼▲
According to the Palliative Use of Marijuana Act, a cardholder or their caregiver may purchase as much as 2.5 ounces of marijuana in any 30-day period.
The recommending health professional recommends a default of 2.5 ounces in any 30 day period, though this amount may be lowered as necessary.
For any person not registered in the palliative use of marijuana program, Connecticut has limited decriminalization laws, allowing for criminal charges for possession or use to be replaced by a fine, similar to a traffic violation.
Any person caught in possession of ½ oz or less is subject to a fine of $150, with each violation thereafter raising the fine to a maximum of $500. If a person is caught with over 1/2 an oz, misdemeanor criminal charges, fines up to $1,000, and up to one year in jail are possible.
Marijuana and Driving▼▲
Driving While Intoxicated
The Palliative Use of Marijuana Act specifies that marijuana may not be consumed in any moving vehicle. Though the law allows cardholders to use marijuana, the penalties for driving while intoxicated remain the same.
For first offenders, the penalties for drugged driving may include one-year suspension of your driving license, up to $1,000 fines, as much as six months in jail, and 100 hours community service or 48-hours of mandatory incarceration.
Driving while in possession of marijuana
Under no circumstance is a registered cardholder to transport marijuana from a Connecticut dispensary to another state, even if marijuana is legal there (e.g. Massachusetts). The state does not want any cardholder to use marijuana products within their vehicle. Being caught using marijuana while in your vehicle, even if it is not moving, puts you at risk of a $300 infraction.
The good news is, cardholders may transport marijuana products with them in their car, as long as they do not use them.
Growing Marijuana at Home▼▲
As of August 2018, Connecticut does not allow cardholders or caregiver to grow their own marijuana. Instead, all marijuana is cultivated by licensed producers, who then sell the product to the dispensary.