The state of California issues ID cards that allow you to possess, transport, grow, and / or be a designated care giver without fear of arrest.
When The Compassionate Care Act of California was passed, it required that the state issue cards to veri ed California medical marijuana users to protect them from police harassment.
WHO CAN OBTAIN A CALIFORNIA CARD?
Any California resident who has a doctor’s recommendation for using marijuana or who is a legally designated care giver.
HOW DO I OBTAIN A CARD?
Make an appointment at your county’s Department of Health Services O ffice of Vital Statistics.
WHAT DO I NEED?
Valid California ID card. Your California driver’s license is perfect.
Proof of residence in your county. If your driver’s license has your current address, then it will also serve as proof of county residence.
A copy of your doctor’s recommendation, your recommending doctor’s name, license number, address, phone number and FAX number.
WHAT IS ON THE CARD?
Your picture, an ID number, and the expiration date.
It also provides the website to verify that the card is valid. It does not have your name, address or phone
number on the card.
WHAT DOES CALIFORNIA DO WITH MY INFORMATION?
Once the California card is issued all your documents are shredded.
CAN THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT ACCESS THE CALIFORNIA RECORDS?
The only records California keeps are ID numbers with expiration dates attached.
The Federal government can only see just how many Californian’s have such a card.
HOW MUCH MARIJUANA CAN I LEGALLY POSSESS?
When you sign up for your card you will be given an information sheet that spells out the State of California maximums for possession and growing. However, your county may allow greater amounts than the state. You are allowed at least the state maximum and, as long as you are in your county, whatever additional amounts your county may allow.
HOW MUCH DOES IT COST?
$160.00 or $80.00 for Medical recipients